Fall sports update: State cross country this weekend

A list of every runner from Clark County, plus notes on the other fall sports

More than 120 runners from Clark County have qualified to run in this weekend’s state championship cross country meet in Pasco.

That includes the nine members listed for each of the five girls squads that have qualified for the team competition as well as the six boys squads that have qualified.

In all, 127 runners representing 16 schools from the county are listed on the WIAA’s race sheet for boys and girls in Classes 4A, 3A, 2A, and 1A. 

The Camas boys are ranked first in the state in the latest coaches rankings. The Camas girls are second. 

The Columbia River boys are fifth in 2A, and the Hockinson girls are eight. 

In Class 1A, the La Center girls are ranked seventh.

For a full list of state participants, check at the end of this post.

The championships are Saturday at Sun Willows Golf Course in Paco.

Cross country is the second sport to hold state championships this fall season. Last weekend, Union finished second in the Class 4A slowpitch softball tournament. It was the first time the Washington Interscholastic Activities Association has sanctioned slowpitch softball since 2001.

Volleyball’s state tournaments, depending on classifications, are Nov. 14-16 and Nov. 22-23. 

The girls swim meet is Nov. 15-16. 

The girls soccer state playoffs begin the week of Nov. 11. The final four is Nov. 22-23.

In volleyball, Ridgefield is the defending Class 2A state champion. The Spudders won the 2A Greater St. Helens League this season and are the top seed heading into the district tournament, which begins Thursday.

Kelso and Prairie are tied for first place in the 3A GSHL with two league matches remaining. Camas and Skyview are tied atop the 4A GSHL standings with one match remaining. The 4A and 3A postseason teams will go to bi-district Nov. 15 and 16. 

In soccer, Columbia River is undefeated and will take on Hockinson in a Class 2A district semifinal tonight. Ridgefield will face Tumwater in the other semifinal. Tonight’s winners will clinch berths to state. The losers will still have a chance in the consolation bracket. 

In 3A, Mountain View won the GSHL. The Thunder have a home match tonight in a bi-district quarterfinal, a winner-to-state match. Prairie is on the road, also in the quarters.

In 4A, Union won the GSHL and will host a winner-to-state, loser-out match on Thursday. Camas, the No. 2 seed, is on the road Thursday. Skyview plays in a loser-out match tonight.

Here are the names of the runners from Clark County who have qualified for the state cross country championships. All names listed on the WIAA’s tournament central page for cross country:


An asterisk means by the school’s name means those runners are competing as a team, too.

4A Girls

Camas*: Aspen Ashcraft, Gracie Buzzell, Bella Distante, Katelyn Flolo, Halle Jenkins, Ashley McKinstry, Camryn Mock, Natalie Peddie, Alyson Robertson

Skyview*: Phoebe Abbruzzese, Taylor Brown, Kylie Christensen, Molly Clink, Charis Deitemeyer, Maia Luther, Emily Norton, Samantha Williams, Allison Yajko

Union: Brooklyn Baldwin, Kiley O’Brien

4A Boys

Battle Ground: Nate Cooper

Camas*: Porter Craig, Carson Frawley, Sam Geiger, Connor Hayward, Evan Jenkins, Andrew Puffer, Spencer Twyman, Luc Utheza, Austin Weese

Heritage: Braedon Sitmann

Skyview: Andrew Thurston

Union: Cameron Lantagne, Andres Solorzano.

3A Girls

Evergreen: Beatrice Le Gore

Fort Vancouver: Dani Buttrell, Dhamar Campos

Mountain View: Jasmine Bates, Jessica Fidler, 

Prairie: Meri Dunford, Lauren Sautter

3A Boys

Mountain View: Branden Chou, Mason Wrede

Prairie: Luke Lund, Samuel Snyder

2A Girls

Columbia River: Nolin Darling, Hanna Bailey

Hockinson: Jordyn Gutridge

Ridgefield: Shelby Fisher, Grace Goode, Ariel Griffith, Jane Kuebrich

Washougal*: Clara Best, Sydnee Boothby, Violet Hancock, Meryl Keeler, Savea Mansfield, Ava Rana, Daya Sathyaraj, Kaylee Timmons, Laura Wagner.

2A Boys

Columbia River*: Daniel Barna, Andrew Douglas, Nathan Gassaway, Jude Helmes, Owen Kerr, Josh Kukula, James Lodahl, Zachary McClellan, Aidan Rowley

Hockinson: Joshua Saeman, Trevan Bischoff

Ridgefield*: Noah Altman, Joey Blick, Niyonzima Jean-de-Dieu, Ethan McQuivey, Liam Rapp, Max Recker, Trent Stephens, Austin Vega, Branden Wise

Washougal*: Jackson Keyser, Trey Keyser, Sam Lewis, Caden Lowman, Blake Mattern, Hayden Stinchfield, Jacob Streuli, Jonathan Wells, Ted West

Woodland: Joran Lamoreaux, Parker Owen

1A Girls

La Center*: Alison Brown, Lauren Fox, Morgan Harris, Makayla Hubler, Natasha Lewis, Tamsyn Lewis, Roselynn Martin, Aaliyah Rivers

Seton Catholic*: Madison Beauchamp, Lara Carrion, Sydney Clark, Sara Cordova, Alexandria LaCorte, Jerrica Pachl, Alexandra Traffalis, Abigail Wall, Emma Watkins

1A Boys

La Center*: Joseph Blanshan, Wade Cox, James Hallstrom, Spencer Holm, Owen La Salata, Garett Shapovalov, Ian Tompkin, Trystahn Turner, Cayden Wrublik
Seton Catholic*: David Carrion, Cayden Lauder, Breckin Miller, Gabe Page, Koen Ross, Steven Sanders, Dongyun Synn, Paulo Vidales, Dylan Young

Notify of
Inline Feedbacks
View all comments
Would love your thoughts, please comment.x