Marty Snell to serve four-year term on Transportation Improvement Board

VANCOUVER – Community Development Director Marty Snell has been named to the board of directors of an agency that awards transportation grants to communities across Washington.

Marty Snell
Marty Snell

The Washington State Transportation Improvement Board distributes transportation construction and maintenance grants generated by 3 cents of the state’s 49.4 cents per gallon gas tax.

Since 1983, the 21-member board has awarded Clark County nearly $100 million in grants for 73 projects. Some of the agency’s biggest grants in recent years include:

  • $8 million for the Salmon Creek Interchange Project, a new interchange on Interstate 5 at Northeast 139th Street and road improvements on both sides of the freeway.
  • More than $6 million to improve Northeast 88th Street, from Highway 99 to Northeast Andresen Road.
  • Approximately $2.6 million to improve the Northeast 72nd Avenue-119th Street intersection, a project nearing completion.
  • $2 million to improve the Northeast 94th Street-Padden Parkway intersection, a project completed earlier this year.

The board also has awarded Clark County a $2.36 million grant to improve the Northeast 99th Street-117th Avenue intersection. Construction is scheduled for 2017.

Snell, who has worked for Clark County since October 2005, oversees a department with 90 employees and a $26.5 million budget for 2017-2018. His term on the state board expires in June 2020.

“The Transportation Improvement Board has been a critical partner for decades,” said County Manager Mark McCauley. “The board has helped our community improve vital transportation corridors, upgrade congested intersections and build needed interchanges, all of which have enhanced safety and supported job creation. Having Marty serve on the board will strengthen this long-standing partnership.”

Washington Transportation Secretary Roger Millar appointed Snell to the 21-member board after he was nominated by the Washington State Association of Counties.

Established by the Legislature, the board selects and administers high priority transportation projects that enhance the movement of people, goods and services in 320 cities and urban counties in Washington.

The board consists of six city representatives, six county members, two Washington State Department of Transportation officials, two transit representatives, a private sector representative, a port representative, a person representing non-motorized transportation, a member with special transportation needs and a member appointed by the governor.

The last Clark County representative to serve on TIB was Jerry Fay, county engineer; he was a board member from 1979 to 1986. Other county residents have been members as city, port or transit representatives.

Receive comment notifications
Notify of

Inline Feedbacks
View all comments
Would love your thoughts, please comment.x