Clark County Republicans elect new officers

Earl Bowerman chosen as chairman; Brook Pell selected to be vice chair

VANCOUVER — On Sat., Dec. 8, the Clark County Republican Central Committee gathered for its biennial reorganization meeting to elect new party officers.

Earl Bowerman
Earl Bowerman

Camas resident Earl Bowerman was elected as chairman to replace outgoing Chairman David Gellatly. Bowerman, who holds a Ph.D from Rutgers University is a retired small business owner and was an adviser of political forum at Texas A&M.

“I would like to thank the outgoing board for their contributions and service to our party,’’ Bowerman said. “I appreciate the opportunity and look forward to working with all of our elected officers, the central committee and volunteers to grow our party.”

Bowerman is originally from Arkansas. He met his wife Karen after joining the faculty at Texas A & M University. The couple recently celebrated their 40th wedding anniversary. They both joined the faculty at California State University, Fresno, where the Bowermans eventually retired before moving to the Pacific Northwest.

This past year, Bowerman was a Republican candidate for Washington’s 3rd Congressional District in the U.S. House. He lost the primary in August 7.

Other officials elected by party include Brook Pell, vice chair; Jenn Duvall, state committeewoman; Joel Mattila, state committeeman, Park Llafet, secretary and Lauren Colas, treasurer.

Brook Pell
Brook Pell

Pell is a native to Clark County and a small business owner. Pell who currently serves as the president of the Clark County Republican Women, was also co-Campaign Manager of Eileen Quiring’s successful campaign for chair of the Clark County Council.

“I’m very grateful to the Central Committee for affording me this opportunity to serve our party,’’ Pell said. “Along with Chairman Bowerman, we will work diligently to advance the ideals of our party and to support Republicans.”

Also elected by the Precinct Committee officers in their legislative districts are: Glenn Kincaid, chair of the 14th Legislative District Committee; Maureen Horn, chair of the 17th Legislative District Committee; Connie Jo Freeman, chair of the 18th Legislative District Committee; Mary Nevius, chair of the 20th Legislative District Committee; and Josh Jones, chair of the 49th Legislative District Committee

For more information on the Clark County Republican Party, go to


About The Author

Ken Vance got his start in the newspaper industry in 1987 as a reporter at The Columbian Newspaper in Vancouver. Vance graduated from Stevenson High School in Stevenson, WA, and attended Clark College in Vancouver. He worked for The Columbian from 1987-2001. He was most recently a staff member of The Reflector Newspaper in Battle Ground, where he served as editor since 2010 and reporter since 2007. Vance’s work in the newspaper industry has won him multiple awards, including a first place award from the Society of Professional Journalists for in-depth reporting.

Related posts