Nine Camas Papermakers highlight all-state football team

Hockinson gets half dozen players recognized; In all, 10 teams from Clark County represented

The state champions get to celebrate a little bit more today.

Oh, and so do a number of football players who did not win a state championship but did receive some statewide recognition.

Jacques Badolato-Birdsell helped Camas on its state championship run and now is one of nine players from that team to be recognized as all-state. Photo by Mike Schultz

The Camas Papermakers, who went 14-0 in 2019, had nine players selected to The Associated Press’ all-state football team.

Five were voted to the first team: Jacques Badolato-Birdsell (running back), Rush Reimer (offensive line), Tristan Souza (defensive line), Tyler Forner (linebacker) and Bryce Leighton (punter).

Receiver Jackson Clemmer, offensive lineman Tai Tumanuvao, defensive lineman Robert Silva, and defensive back Kolby Broadbent were honorable mention. Oh, and Forner, first team on defense, made honorable mention as all-purpose.

Levi Crum, who helped Hockinson to the state semifinals, earned first-team, all-state status at quarterback for Class 2A.
Levi Crum, who helped Hockinson to the state semifinals, earned first-team, all-state status at quarterback for Class 2A.

The Hockinson Hawks, who reached the Class 2A state semifinals, had six players honored, including three first-teamers: Levi Crum at quarterback, Takumi Veley at offensive line, and Liam Mallory at defensive back. Honorable mention Hawks were: Peyton Brammer, wide receiver, Jeremiah Faulstick, tight end, and Ki Haden, offensive line.

Washougal, which had its best season in decades, got a first-team, all-state selection for linebacker Brevan Bea.

In Class 1A, Max Muffett of La Center is a first-team selection on the offensive line. Bailey Meek of King’s Way Christian made first team for the defensive line.

Others who made honorable mention:

Skyview: Josiah Cochran (DL) and Cooper Barnum (linebacker).

Union: Rocky Mataia (OL).

Prairie: Brody Schlaefli (OL).

Evergreen: Zyell Griffin (AP)

Ridgefield: Trey Knight (DL)

Information first published by Tacoma News Tribune.


About The Author

Paul Valencia joins after more than two decades of newspaper experience. He became the face of high school sports coverage in Clark County during his 17 years at The Columbian. Before moving to Vancouver, Paul worked at Oregon daily newspapers in Pendleton, Roseburg, and Salem. A graduate of David Douglas High School in Portland, Paul enlisted in the U.S. Army, serving three years as a soldier/journalist. He and his wife Jenny recently celebrated their 20th anniversary. They have a son who has a passion for karate and Minecraft. Paul’s hobbies include: Watching the Raiders play football, reading about the Raiders playing football, and waiting to watch and read about the Raiders playing football.

Related posts