High School Baseball: Clark County All-Stars shine for most of the night

Max Fraser, left, of Camas and Dylan Osbourne of Union were selected the MVPs of Tuesday’s Clark County Senior All-Star Baseball series. Photo by Paul Valencia
Max Fraser, left, of Camas and Dylan Osbourne of Union were selected the MVPs of Tuesday’s Clark County Senior All-Star Baseball series. Photo by Paul Valencia

The lights went out at 10 p.m., but seniors put on a show before then

Paul Valencia

RIDGEFIELD — The Clark County Senior All-Star Baseball Series finished in the dark Tuesday night, but only after a lot of shining stars played ball at the Ridgefield Outdoor Recreation Complex.

Max Fraser of Camas and Dylan Osborne of Union were named the MVPs of the two games, featuring seniors from Clark County high schools who just completed their seasons. 

“It’s just really fun to come out and compete with all these guys. We’ve played with or against all of them,” Fraser said.

“We’re all here just working our butts off every day,” Osborne said. “To see your friends succeed, and see yourself succeed, it’s just fun.”

Fraser and Osborne, rivals in 4A Greater St. Helens League play, were teammates Tuesday, leading their squad of all-stars to a 13-3 victory and then a 14-3 win. The second game was called early when the lights went out at precisely 10 p.m. 

Players from both teams congratulated each other on their seasons, in the dark, on the field.

“It’s just been really fun to come out here and cap off our high school careers,” Fraser said.

Some, though, will get a couple more games.

After the game Tuesday night, area coaches huddled and then voted on Clark County’s nominees for the Washington All State Baseball series, to be played in Yakima June 24-25.

Due to prior commitments, Fraser and Osborne were not able to attend so they were not on the all-state ballots. 

But for those who were, the coaches voted to rank 15 players who could, potentially, be selected for the all-state series. The top seven are considered “most likely” to go to Yakima. The next eight would be alternates, selected on the basis of position need, for example. 

The top seven, in alphabetical order: Dillon Kirksey of Ridgefield, Sebastian Laddusaw of Hudson’s Bay, Ryan McClaskey of Camas, Evan McGuire of Union, Dylan Richardson of Union, Jake Swenson of Camas, and Holt Williams of Camas. 

The alternates, in alphabetical order: Braeden Bellus of Hockinson, Cody Blackhurst of Skyview, Elias Estrada of Hudson’s Bay, Jarod Oldham of Hockinson, Brayden Petrowski of Prairie, Cole Robinson of Evergreen, Jackson Upton of Prairie, and Joey Wilcox of Mountain View.

For Fraser and Osborne, Tuesday was a chance to play on the same team. In high school, league rivals. In college, they will be conference rivals. Fraser is going to Washington State. Osborne will play at Washington.

“Off the field, we’re bros,” Osborne said.

The MVP awards, including a scholarship from the Evergreen Baseball Umpires Association, are named in honor of U.S. Army Cpl. Jeremiah Jewel Johnson. A 2001 Prairie graduate and baseball standout, Johnson died while serving in Iraq in 2007. 

Also read:

Receive comment notifications
Notify of

Inline Feedbacks
View all comments
Would love your thoughts, please comment.x