Clark County Republicans to nominate three for vacant county council seat

Precinct Committee Officers to convene at Tuesday meeting in Vancouver

VANCOUVER — Precinct Committee Officers from the Clark County Republican Party will select three names from a list of 11 applicants Tuesday as nominations for the vacant seat on the Clark County Council.

The meeting will be held Tuesday in the Senior Center Auditorium of the Marshall Community Center, located at 1009 E. McLoughlin Blvd., in Vancouver. The meeting is scheduled to begin at 7 p.m.

The deadline for applicants was Jan. 10 for the District 4 seat, left vacant when Eileen Quiring began her term as chair of the Clark County Council on Jan. 1. Nominees must reside in District 4 and be of the Republican Party. They must also sign a statement that he or she agrees to serve if nominated.

Pursuant to Article II, Section 15 of the Washington State Constitution, the Clark County Republican Central Committee is required to nominate three individuals as candidates. Pursuant to the state constitution, all nominees must: 1) reside in County Council District 4; and (2) be of the same political party as Quiring, namely the Republican Party.

Nominations will be voted upon by Clark County Precinct Committee Officers at the Jan. 15 meeting. The names of the three individuals nominated will then be forwarded to the Clark County Council. Upon receipt of the names of the three nominees, the Clark County Council will review the nominees, conduct interviews in an open public session, and appoint one of the individuals to the office of Clark County Council District 4.

The list of nominees includes former Clark County Councilor Tom Mielke and current Battle Ground Council Member Shane Bowman, both are Battle Ground residents. One other Battle Ground resident, Dick Rylander Jr., is also among the 11 nominees.

Camas residents John Ley, Gary Medvigy, Brook Pell, David Knight and Chuck Miller are also among the nominees. The list also includes Thomas Schenk, of Yacolt, Herb Maxey, of Brush Prairie, and Greg Boynton, of La Center.

Notify of
Inline Feedbacks
View all comments
Would love your thoughts, please comment.x