National Football Foundation announces area scholarship nominees

More than 20 football players, representing 13 high schools in the region, have been nominated for the scholar-athlete awards. 

Some of Clark County’s top scholar-athletes from high school football are set to be recognized by the local chapter of the National Football Foundation.

The nominees for this year’s scholarship rewards have been released, and winners are expected to be announced soon. In all, 22 football players, representing 13 schools from Southwest Washington, were nominated for their excellence on the field, in the classroom, and in the community.

No banquet again this year, but the Clark County chapter of the National Football Foundation will announce scholarship winners for high school football players who shine on the field, in the classroom, and in the community.

The National Football Foundation Clark County Chapter (which also includes some schools just outside the county) has been awarding scholarships since 1993, totalling more than $360,000. There was no banquet last year as the 2020 fall football season was pushed back into an abbreviated season during the pandemic. There is no banquet again this year — in-person meetings of this size were not possible during the planning stages — but the board of directors still wanted to recognize the seniors who played in the fall of 2021.

The winners will be notified by the chapter’s board of directors. Scott Evenson is the president of the board. Each nominee will be given a plaque. 

There will be two scholarship winners of $1,500 each, $1,000 each, and $500 each. The board will also name a coach of the year for the region.

Fundraising has slowed significantly during the pandemic. Evenson said the goal is to raise enough funds in order to hold a banquet in the winter of 2023. The banquet features all nominees wearing tuxedos, sharing an evening with their parents and friends, all in celebration of football.

Nominations came from school coaches and/or athletic directors. The NFF asks for a lineman and a back. The athlete must have a grade-point average of 3.0 or better, have had a significant impact on the field, and is a leader off the field in the community.

This year’s nominees are:


Thomas Brown, Washougal

Connor Delamarter, Ridgefield

Jace Greenwood, Columbia White Salmon

Jaydon Jones, Union

Dylan Kier, Columbia River

Andre Northrup, Hockinson

Kyle Norton, Evergreen

Jairus Phillips, Camas

Kyle Simmons, Battle Ground

Lance Stuck, Seton Catholic

Valike Tamakloe, Mountain View


Conlan Albertson, Hockinson

Noah Christensen, Camas

Dax Clifton, Seton Catholic

Nic Hutchinson, Columbia River

David Kailea, Evergreen

Joel Lee, Union

Vinny Lenzi, Ridgefield

Jurell McDade, Mountain View

Daniel Trice, Woodland

Owen Wann, Battle Ground

Jack Warren, Heritage

Editor’s note: Reporter Paul Valencia is on the board of directors of the National Football Foundation Clark County Chapter.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *